EYFS Reception Class Curriculum

Welcome to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which is how the Government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5.


''Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential.'' 


This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs. Nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes and childminders registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.

What is the EYFS Framework – Why do we have one?

The EYFS Framework exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child, and was developed with a number of early years experts and parents. In 2020 the Framework has been revised with the aim for the new Early Learning Goals to become statutory in 2021. This year we will be an Early Adopter School for the new Early Learning Goals. This means that we will be part of a trial for the new Early Learning Goals before they are statutory in 2021. 

It sets out:

  • Requirements for learning and development and for safeguarding children and promoting their welfare. The learning and development requirements cover:
  • The areas of learning and development which must shape activities and experiences (educational programmes) for children in all early years settings
  • The early learning goals that providers must help children work towards (the knowledge, skills and understanding children should have at the end of the academic year in which they turn five)
  • Assessment arrangements for measuring progress (and requirements for reporting to parents and/or carers)

The EYFS Framework explains four guiding principles which should shape practice in early years settings.

These are:

  •  every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured,
  • positive relationships helping children to become independent and strong,
  • enabling environments with teaching and support from adults,
  • the importance of learning and development.

Children develop and learn at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities (SEND).

Children should mostly develop the three prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas.

These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

These seven areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs.

This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it's suitable for very young children, and it's designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside. To discover more about helping your child’s development please visit this website.

Please see download the documents below for further information on end of EYFS outcomes and the EYFS curriculum that has been proposed for 2021.